Are users notified during a migration?
No. SharePoint Migrator never sends sharing invitations or e-mails, and sharing links are not migrated.
No e-mails to users
Permissions are copied without sending any invitation or notification e-mail. Users won't be told that content was shared with them.
Sharing links are not migrated
Links created with Share or Copy link (stored in SharePoint as hidden SharingLinks groups) are skipped. They point to the old location and would create new invitations. Re-share important files after the migration if needed.
Regular permissions (SharePoint groups and unique permissions on sites, lists, folders and items) are copied when Custom permissions is selected in the options.
Was this article helpful?
Updated 2026-10-17
